# **STATES OF JERSEY**



# JERSEY FINANCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION: RE-APPOINTMENT OF COMMISSIONER

Lodged au Greffe on 20th December 2011 by the Minister for Economic Development

## **STATES GREFFE**

# **PROPOSITION**

# THE STATES are asked to decide whether they are of opinion –

to appoint, in pursuance of Article 3 of the Financial Services Commission (Jersey) Law 1998, Mr. John Clark Averty as a Commissioner of the Jersey Financial Services Commission, with effect from 20th January 2012 for a further period of 4 years.

MINISTER FOR ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

#### **REPORT**

The appointment of Commissioners to the Jersey Financial Services Commission ("the Commission") is dealt with in Articles 3 and 4 of the Financial Services Commission (Jersey) Law 1998 ("the Commission Law").

Article 3(1) and (2) reads as follows –

### "3 Appointment of Commissioners

- (1) The Commission shall consist of
  - (a) a Chairman; and
  - (b) not less than 6 other Commissioners.
- (2) The States shall appoint
  - (a) the Commissioners from persons nominated by the Minister; and
  - (b) a Commissioner nominated by the Minister to be Chairman of the Commission,

and the appointments shall be debated in camera."

Pursuant to Article 4(2) of the Commission Law, the term of appointment of a Commissioner is prescribed by Schedule 1, Part 2, paragraph 1(2) of which reads as follows –

"(2) A Commissioner shall be appointed by instrument in writing for a period not exceeding 5 years and upon expiry of such period shall be eligible for reappointment."

The Minister for Economic Development wishes to nominate the following person for re-appointment by the States:

#### Mr. John Clark Averty

Mr. Averty is Chairman and Chief Executive of the Guiton Group Limited, a Jersey registered company, and is Chairman of a number of Guiton subsidiary companies, including: Jersey Evening Post Limited; Guernsey Press Limited; and Itex Holdings Limited.

He is also a Non-Executive Director of Fairbairn Private Bank Limited.

Mr. Averty was formerly a Member of the States of Jersey – a Deputy from 1969 to 1972; and a Senator from 1972 to 1984; and served as President or Vice-President on the following Committees: Housing Committee; Public Works Committee, Establishment Committee, Broadcasting Committee and Finance and Economics Committee.

Mr. Averty is resident in Jersey and has served 2 terms as a Commissioner.

The Jersey Appointments Commission has confirmed that this re-appointment meets its eligibility criteria for re-appointments.

#### **Current Commissioners**

Other Commissioners have been appointed until the following dates –

Sir Nigel Wicks 16th June 2012 28th February 2013 Mr. John Harris

22nd October 2013 Mr. Clive Jones (Chairman) 29th November 2013 Advocate Debbie Prosser 22nd October 2014 Mr. John Mills, M.B.E.

Mr. Philip Taylor, F.C.A.

Lord Eatwell of Stratton St. Margaret 21st April 2015

31st May 2015 Advocate Cyril Whelan 13th September 2015 Mr. Marcus Ruetimann

### Financial and manpower implications

There are no financial or manpower implications for the States arising from this proposition.